Wedlock wins three way tustle for top points on round 2

Posted by | March 19, 2016 | Autocross, Club Members | No Comments

Maudabawn man Mervyn Wedlock came away from the 2nd round of the MC Blinds Autocross championship with a scant 2 second win after IMG_1532what was a titanic battle all day with current champion Joe Smith and previous champion and championship sponsor Mickey Conlon in what was a true master class for all motorsport fans by all 3 with cameo appearances during the day also from Chris Snow JNR, Danny Mc Cormack and Thomas Melia in their supporting roles in this epic.IMG_1263

The day would start off crisp and dry for the 30 drivers who took the start with the times coming thick and fast from the word go with the top runners setting sub 3 minute times from the get go.
First blood would go to Wedlock as he would blitz the opposition overall with a scorching time straight out of the blocks to show he hasn’t lost his pace around the technical track. With the opposition reeling from the opening assault on the senses it was up to Conlon to take up the chase and push hard to start chipping away the time to Wedlock. On the 3rd run he would go fastest by 3 tenths of a second with Joe Smith putting up a valiant effort and getting to within 1 hundredth of a second of Wedlock and declaring “The Pinto can do no more! I am gonna need 300hp” The cameo’s would come flying thick and fast from the likes of Melia, Snow, Drury and Mc Cormack but no one could keep to the meteoric pace of the top 3.IMG_1231
On the final run Conlon would beat Wedlock by a further 3 tenths but it wasn’t enough and Mervyn Wedlock would take the win in what could be described as one of the classics.

In class 1 it would be Philip Grall who would finish 2nd and collect a good haul of points for the championship behind Ronan Greene who took the class win and 18th overall on the day.

In class 2 it would be a close run thing between the 4 cars in it with seasoned pro Gerry Greene taking first blood in his Nova on the opening run ahead of the two O’Reilly’s and recent addition to the class Alan Pickens in another Nova. On the second run Damian O’Reilly was to turn up the wick as he would set the fastest time by almost a second ahead of the chasing trio with Alan Pickens IMG_1515making inroads into Gerry Greene’s time on the opener. In the finish it would be Brendan O’Reilly in 4th with Gerry Greene 3rd, new kid on the block Pickens 2nd with Damian O’Reilly taking the class win and 16th overall.

Class 3 would see Shane Marron take his usual stance of hard driving and top of class results to take the win again today ahead of Anthony Lynch with Adrian Foley fail to finish out the day after a mechanical issue would side line the Ballyhaise man. Marron would seal his performance in the class with an impressive 8th overall.

In Class 4 there would be 7 entrants in the 1600 16 valve battle with some of the big hitters present. IMG_1311The pace would be big and it wasn’t to start quietly either with Chris Snow JNR making his intentions known as he would carve out a 2 second advantage on Danny Mc Cormack with Chris Snow SNR being the 3rd fastest through the opening run. As the following runs would play out at the Hutcross track it would be Snow who would continue to hold the advantage with Mc Cormack managing to real him in a little to cut the gap to under a second a run but it would be all Chris Snow JNR as he would take top points ahead of Danny Mc Cormack with Gerry Mc Intyre making it into the top 3 ahead of Chris Snow SNR, David Kerr, Brian Smith and Aiden Nicholl.

IMG_1178Class 5 would see one of the overall contenders and current champion Joe Smith make his mark on the class by taking a start to finish victory ahead of the hard charging Raymond Drury who recently made the switch back to Pinto power which has stood him very well in the past with some great results on the stages. 3rd place would be a great reward for Wayne O’Reilly who won out a tight run tustle with Ollie Mc Cormack to edge out a 1.5 second advantage over 4 runs. Not so fortunate was Colette Rooney who was forced to retire early with overheating issues with her Nova.

Class 6 would hold the other elements of the overall battle with Championship sponsor Mickey Conlon andIMG_1425 Mervyn Wedlock both escort equipped and both previous champions this would be a no holds barred fight to the end. With Wedlock taking the fastest times over the first 2 runs it would be a tall order for Conlon to pull the 2 seconds back in such a tightly matched race. In 3rd place it would be Thomas Melia who would bring his Civic home with a good points haul for the championship ahead of Kevin Mc Quaid.

Class 7 and the buggy men were out for a good race between themselves with Mick Casey coming home in 3rd place in his Rage buggy. In 2nd would be Sean Coleman who set a couple of fastest times but it wouldn’t be enough at the end of the day as Sean Casey would take top honours after setting a blistering time on the final run.



In the Juniors it would see new guy Lorcan Moore who would take the reigns of the Snow family Saxo to good effect as he would win the junior category ahead of Anthony Mc Donald in his trusty Nova.




Top 10:
1st     Mervyn Wedlock – Ford Escort Mk2
2nd   Mickey Conlon – Ford Escort Mk2
3rd   Joseph Smith – Ford Escort Mk2
4th   Chris Snow JNR – Honda Civic
5th   Daniel Mc Cormack – Vauxhall Corsa
6th   Thomas Melia – Honda Civic
7th   Raymond Drury – Ford Escort Mk2
8th   Shane Marron – Ford Escort Mk2
9th   Wayne O’Reilly – Ford Escort Mk2
10th Gerry Mc Intyre – Toyota Starlet