Christmas Autocross

Posted by | January 7, 2015 | Autocross | No Comments
Sunday 28th December saw Cavan Motor Club running their annual Christmas Autocross and as it was a non championship counting round, the shackles were off for the crews to blow the Christmas cobwebs away.  Clerk of the Course, Jim Reilly and his hard working team were out in force for some early morning salting following the severe frost the night before, and this helped get rid of the icy conditions but the track would remain greasy all day.  Although not a championship round, it was the regular crews who rose to the top of the times with the previous events winner Chris Snow blasting in to an early but small lead from Alan Pickens in his underpowered Nova keeping things neat and tidy to stay ahead of much more powerful machinery in second with young Oldcastle charger Gary McNamee lying a very close third.  However as the day progressed and conditions worsened it was Snow who rose to the top for his second successive win, despite dropping 17 seconds on run 2, he sealed the deal by taking fastest time on the last run to take victory.
It was 2014 club champion Joe Smith who took the runner up spot, after an unusual slow start, Joe bounced back on run 2 with fastest time but was just piped by Chris Snow on the last run finishing just 2 seconds off the pace in second.  After late drama on run 3 with a broken drive shaft for Alan Pickens, luck was still with him as he had enough done on run 1 & 2 to seal an excellent 3rd overall his best run of the year.  The class battles were just as close, apart from class 1 with Alan Pickens totally dominating, taking victory by 35 seconds from Philip Grall with Anthony McDonald 3rd.  Class 2 saw National Junior Championship runner up Damien Reilly return in style taking a close victory over Seamus Cooke with both crews not separated by more than a second on each of the runs.  Gene McDonald took a fine 3rd spot despite not being in his own car, he was extremely close to the pace in front.  Class 3 was a lonely place for Adrian Foley with him being unusually the only crew in it, but his overall finish of 10th overall showed he certainly was not hanging around.
Class 4 was as always very competitive with Chris Snow forefitting the class for overall victory, fellow Oldcastle man Gary McNamee took the honours from Micheal Cahill who was first time competing in Latton and also sharing the same car as Gary, so he could well be one to watch in the future.  The welcome return of Danny McCormac took a well deserved 3rd in class.
Class 5 was filtrated with extra competitors for the Christmas run and indeed was unexpectedly lead by Border rally champion Brian Armstrong after run 1, but it was Joe Smith that came out on top but not before he had to put the hammer down to stay ahead of Brian.
The ever consistent Ollie McCormack took a steady 3rd in this class.  All eyes were on class 6 as Pauric Duffy made the debut in Latton of the new Fiesta WRC R5 a spectacular machine that fairly caught the many fans eyes.  Indeed but for the four wheel drive penalty imposed, he would have been right up there in overall classification.  Stephen Corey took a distant second in his yellow Mark II escort.
Class 7 is the class for specials and buggies and this is the class that not only lit up the day but the championship all year.  It was a remarkable turn out of star drivers that manys a rally would be proud of with 21 super quick drivers.  After a day of high speed and entertainment it was young Josh Moffit that just piped MC Blinds man Mickey Conlon to top spot.  After a day long battle, indeed James Cassidy and Joshs brother Sam along with the top 2 were all separated by just 3 seconds and the buggies are certainly the spectators delight.
Finally the Junior category was taken by Michael Cahill from Thomas Wedlock driving a Mark II escort for the first time setting great time along the way.